About Us

2023/12/20

The Functions of the Consulate-General of Japan

The Consulate-General of Japan in Toronto is the Japanese diplomatic mission responsible for overseeing the relationship between Japan and Ontario. A branch of the Japanese Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Consulate-General functions as the window to the Government of Japan to both Japanese nationals living in Ontario and Canadians who wish to do business with Japan or visit or simply learn more about the country. In addition, the Consulate-General is the link between Japan and the Government of Ontario, as well as the province's business and cultural communities.

In general, the Consulate-General has three missions. They are:

    (1) to promote the Canadian people's understanding of Japan, the Japanese people, their lifestyles and culture;
    (2) to enhance collaboration and cooperation between Canadian and Japanese businesses; and
    (3) to assist in the well-being of Japanese citizens, as well as Japanese Canadians living in Ontario.

The diplomatic mission is headed by the Consul-General (note - "consulate-general" refers to the office; "consul-general" refers to the person) under whom work several diplomatic officers - Consuls and Vice-Consuls - and local staff.

Postal Address:
Suite 3300, TD North Tower
77 King Street West
PO Box 10, TD Centre
Toronto, ON M5K 1A1

Address:
Suite 3300, TD North Tower
77 King Street West
Toronto, ON M5K 2A1

Tel: 416-363-7038
Fax: 416-367-9392
E-mailaccess@to.mofa.go.jp

Hours of Operation:
Mon. - Fri.
General: 09:00-12:30, 13:30-17:00

Visa Section: Appointment Only
               09:00-12:30, 13:30-16:00
Hours of eVISA payment
     09:00-12:00, 13:30-15:00

The Consulate General of Japan will be closed on these holidays:

2024
 
Jan. 1 (Mon.) New Year's Day
Jan. 2 (Tues.) Government Holiday
Jan. 3 (Wed.) Government Holiday
Feb. 19 (Mon.)  Family Day
Mar. 29 (Fri.) Good Friday
Apr. 1 (Mon.) Easter Monday
May 20 (Mon.) Victoria Day
July 1 (Mon.) Canada Day
July 15 (Mon.) Marine Day
Aug. 5 (Mon.) Civic Holiday
Sept. 2 (Mon.) Labour Day
Sept. 30 (Mon.) National Day for Truth and Reconciliation
Oct. 14 (Mon.) Thanksgiving Day
Nov. 11 (Mon.) Remembrance Day
Dec. 25 (Wed.) Christmas Day
Dec. 26 (Thu.) Boxing Day
Dec. 30 (Mon.) Government Holiday
Dec. 31 (Tues.) Government Holiday